/1996 - Michael Schumacher

Please upgrade your browser here in order to view this page correctly.

1996

ABOUT THIS SEASON

1996 Tough Season With Rays of Hope

Not even Michael himself would have counted on that, and he is an optimist. Before the Spanish GP He would not have bet on Ferrari and himself – regardless of the weather and the track conditions.

And at first it looked like he was right in doing so: problems with the clutch at the start, Michael lost several positions. Then the red miracle of Montmelo: Michael got going and overtook one opponent after the other. He took his first win for Ferrari, with a 45 seconds lead.

Great Emotions and a problematic car

It is unbelievable, an amazing feeling“, said Michael. “I can not find the right words to describe it.” Especially if you take into account that Michael heard a strange noise coming from the rear end of his car on lap 35. “From that time one the Ferrari drove with eight instead of ten cylinders. Because of that I lacked 10 kilometres per hour on the straight. I prayed that the car would hold.” It did – this time.

But before and after that race things looked completely different. Already at the season opener in Melbourne it became obvious that it was going to be a hard season for Ferrari. The start of the season was not very promising: because of a brake problem Michael did not finish the race. Things did not get better. The Ferrari was too slow and too unreliable. In Argentina the rear wing broke, the brake disc exploded at Imola, in Canada the drive shaft flew out of the car and in France Michael suffered an enginge failure on the race’s formation lap. At Silverstone he did not finish the race because of a failure of the hydraulic system. At Monaco he made one of his few mistakes. He slid over a wet kerb and crashed into a crash barrier. But Michael always stood up for team principal Jean Todt, even as the Italian press demanded Todt’s resignation.

In the following years Michael will not have to worry about technical problems any more but back then racing was an exhausting job. At the Nürburgring and at Imola Michael drove onto the podium and Ferrari found fresh hope. But things got even better at Michael’s favourite circuit Spa-Francorchamps and at Monza, the Ferrari-Mecca: Michael won both times; his second and third season victory.

Paternal feelings in Italian

The victory at Monza was the first one for Ferrari at the Italian GP since the one-two of Gerhard Berger and Michele Alboreto in 1988; shortly after Commendatore Enzo Ferrari had died. At Monza Michael also announced that Corinna was pregnant. In February their baby-girl called Gina-Maria was born. “To win in Monza with a Ferrari was great“, said Michael. “That I got the chance to tell the whole world that I have just become a father was an additional present.”

Michael finished third in the Drivers’ Championsip, behind Damon Hill and Jacques Villeneuve. He did not stand a chance. Miracles take their time. But Michael announced that the championship cup was only lent; but for how long was not certain.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATS

1996 Saison Figures

3

DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP

3

GRAND PRIX WINS

8

PODIUM POSITIONS

59

POINTS TOTAL

2

FASTEST LAPS

4

POLE POSITION

THE CAR

Ferrari F310

F310

ALL GRAND PRIX

The races of 1996

MELBOURNE

10.03.1996

MELBOURNE

Australia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen DNF

SAO PAULO

31.03.1996

SAO PAULO

Brazil

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 3

BUENOS AIRES

07.04.1996

BUENOS AIRES

ARGENTINIA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen DNF

NÜRBURGRING

28.04.1996

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPEAN GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

IMOLA

05.05.1996

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

MONTE CARLO

19.05.1996

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen DNF

BARCELONA

02.06.1996

BARCELONA

Spain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONTREAL

16.06.1996

MONTREAL

Canada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen DNF

MAGNY-COURS

30.06.1996

MAGNY-COURS

France

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen DNF

SILVERSTONE

14.07.1996

SILVERSTONE

Great Britain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen DNF

HOCKENHEIM

28.07.1996

HOCKENHEIM

GERMANY

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 4

BUDAPEST

11.08.1996

BUDAPEST

Hungary

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 9

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

25.08.1996

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgium

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONZA

08.09.1996

MONZA

Italy

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

ESTORIL

22.09.1996

ESTORIL

Portugal

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 3

SUZUKA

13.10.1996

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

X

/1996 - Michael Schumacher

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browser-Version hier, um die Seite optimal anzeigen zu können.

1996

SAISON IN WORTEN

1996 Harte Saison mit Lichtblicken

Damit hätte selbst der Optimist in Michael niemals gerechnet. Keinen Pfennig hätte er vor dem Großen Preis von Spanien 1996 auf sich und Ferrari gesetzt – egal ob im Trockenen oder im Regen.

Kupplungsprobleme am Start und etliche Platzverluste in der Gischt auf dem Weg zur ersten Kurve geben ihm recht. Dann das rote Wunder von Montmelo: Michael kommt immer besser in Fahrt, überholt einen Gegner nach dem anderen. Mit 45 Sekunden Vorsprung gewinnt er zum ersten Mal für Ferrari.

Große Gefühle und problematischer Bolide

Das ist unglaublich, es ist ein tolles Gefühl„, sagt er. „Ich kann es mit Worten kaum beschreiben.“ Besonders angesichts der Tatsache, dass er ab Runde 35 komische Geräusche aus dem Heck seines Autos vernimmt. „Der Ferrari ist von da an nur noch mit acht, statt mit zehn Zylindern gefahren. Mir haben dadurch auf der Geraden rund 10 Stundenkilometer gefehlt. Ich habe nur noch gebetet, dass das Auto hält.“ Es hält – diesmal.

Vor und nach diesem Rennen sieht das ganz anders aus. Schon beim Saisonauftakt in Melbourne bestätigt sich, dass Michael und Ferrari eine harte Saison bevorsteht. Die Ferrari-Ära beginnt wenig verheißungsvoll: ein Bremsdefekt führt zum Ausfall. In diesem Trott geht es weiter: Der Ferrari ist zu langsam und viel zu unzuverlässig. In Argentinien bricht der Heckflügel, in Imola explodiert eine Bremsscheibe, in Kanada fliegt die Antriebswelle aus dem Auto, in Frankreich schafft Michael noch nicht einmal die Einführungsrunde – Motorschaden. In Silverstone scheidet er mit einem Hydraulikdefekt aus. In Monaco macht er einen seiner wenigen Fehler. Auf einem rutschigen Kerb rutscht er früh in die Leitplanke. Aber Michael stellt sich schützend vor Teamchef Jean Todt, dessen Kopf die italienische Presse nach der Defekt- und Pannenserie rollen sehen will.

In späteren Jahren wird Michael saisonübergreifend keine technischen Defekte in Rennen haben, doch bis dahin vergeht noch viel Zeit, fließt noch viel Schweiß in Maranello. Zumindest zwei Podestplätze am Nürburgring und in Imola machen Hoffnung – immerhin sind das die ersten Heimspiele für Michael und Ferrari. Noch besser läuft es auf Michaels Lieblingskurs in Spa-Francorchamps und im Ferrari-Mekka in Monza: beide Male siegt Michael und holt damit die unerwarteten Saisonsiege zwei und drei.

Vatergefühle auf Italienisch

Der Triumph in Monza ist der erste Ferrari-Sieg beim Italien GP seit dem Doppelsieg von Gerhard Berger und Michele Alboreto 1988; damals kurz nach dem Tod des Commendatore, Enzo Ferrari. In Monza gibt Michael auch bekannt, dass er und Corinna Nachwuchs erwarten. Im Februar des kommenden Jahres erblickt Töchterchen Gina-Maria das Licht der Welt. „In Monza mit einem Ferrari zu gewinnen, das ist einfach das Größte„, jubelt Michael. „Dass ich dazu mein Glück verkünden konnte, Vater zu werden, ist noch ein zusätzliches Geschenk.“

In der WM beschenkt sich Michael im Endklassement mit Platz drei – hinter den beiden Titelrivalen Damon Hill und Jacques Villeneuve. Gegen sie hat er keine Chance. Wunder dauern eben etwas länger. Doch Michael kündigt an: der WM-Pokal sei nur verliehen; nur die genaue Verleihdauer steht noch nicht fest.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATISTIK

1996 Saison in Zahlen

3

WM-PLATZIERUNG

3

GRAND PRIX SIEGE

8

PODIUMSPLÄTZE

59

ERREICHTE PUNKTE

2

SCHNELLSTE RUNDEN

4

POLE POSITION

DAS AUTO

Ferrari F310

F310

ALLE GRAND PRIX

Die Rennen der Saison 1996

MELBOURNE

10.03.1996

MELBOURNE

Australien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen DNF

SAO PAULO

31.03.1996

SAO PAULO

Brasilien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 3

BUENOS AIRES

07.04.1996

BUENOS AIRES

ARGENTINIEN

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen DNF

NÜRBURGRING

28.04.1996

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPA GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

IMOLA

05.05.1996

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

MONTE CARLO

19.05.1996

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen DNF

BARCELONA

02.06.1996

BARCELONA

Spanien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONTREAL

16.06.1996

MONTREAL

Kanada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen DNF

MAGNY-COURS

30.06.1996

MAGNY-COURS

Frankreich

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen DNF

SILVERSTONE

14.07.1996

SILVERSTONE

Großbritannien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen DNF

HOCKENHEIM

28.07.1996

HOCKENHEIM

DEUTSCHLAND

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 4

BUDAPEST

11.08.1996

BUDAPEST

Ungarn

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 9

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

25.08.1996

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONZA

08.09.1996

MONZA

Italien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

ESTORIL

22.09.1996

ESTORIL

Portugal

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 3

SUZUKA

13.10.1996

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

X