/2002 - Michael Schumacher

Please upgrade your browser here in order to view this page correctly.

2002

ABOUT THIS SEASON

2002 The 5th World Championship

I love you,” a champagne drenched Michael shouts down from the podium. But on this 21st July, his profession of ardour is directed not just at wife Corinna but also the entire team – from mechanics to team principal, from trucker to race engineer.

For today, Michael is not only the fastest man on the track; he is also the fastest world champion of all time. By race eleven out of sixteen – and six GP outings before the end of the season – he secures his fifth championship title at Magny Cours and, at the same time, draws level with the legendary Juan Manuel Fangio. But he doesn’t see himself as a living legend. “The team is the legend, not me,” he emphasises. Without his team, without the hard work on the track and in the factory in Maranello, this moment of triumph and the hat trick of titles for Ferrari would never have happened.

A little bit of luck

A little bit of luck does play a role in the outcome, not as to whether or not Michael will win the World Championship but rather how soon. “I can honestly say that I wasn’t thinking about the title because I didn’t have the feeling that it was going to happen here,” he says afterwards. Michael travels to France with a 54-point lead over team-mate Rubens Barrichello but a mistake, crossing the white line of the pit lane exit, sets him back. He claws his way up to the front again but it is only in the fifth from last lap that the title really comes within his grasp.

Kimi Räikkönen, who is in the lead, skids on an oil spill shed by Allan McNish’s Toyota. “It was pure luck,” Michael admits, “I had never expected anything like that.” As he takes the lead, the thought enters Michael’s mind for the first time this weekend that title might be winnable.

I think they were the worst five laps of my career. They never seemed to end, they went on for ever. Suddenly there was all this weight on my shoulders and the pressure not to make any mistakes or any false moves.”

After 72 laps five-time World Champion

After 72 laps, he crosses the finishing line as five-times Formula One World Champion. “Then suddenly, all the pressure is off; you realise you’ve done it – it’s a fantastic moment, all your feelings come spilling out…I can’t really find the right words to describe it.”

Next comes Hockenheim, a home race for the outgoing and incoming champion, where his fans fete him not so much in words as in jubilant cheering, blaring klaxons and fireworks. With his first home win since 1995, Michael puts the icing on the cake for the Ferrari championship party. But even in this celebratory year for the Reds, there are two races where triumph is clouded by controversy.

The world of Formula One marks down 12th May.

Rubens Barrichello is in the lead as the Austrian GP draws to a close. But even though he ought to be standing at the top of the podium at the awards ceremony, he is not the winner – as in the previous year, Michael overtakes him on the home stretch, on team orders. This re-imposition of team strategy causes a storm of outrage; and when Michael tries to cross the finishing line together with Rubens Barrichello at the US Grand Prix at Indianapolis, there is renewed criticism. Instead of Michael, Barrichello wins by 0.011 seconds or a lead of 48 centimetres.

But none of this puts a dampener on Michael’s triumphal procession. A uniquely reliable series of cars means that he finishes all 17 races, scores points in all 17 and even takes his place on the podium for all 17. In total, he achieves eleven wins, five 2nd places and one 3rd place. “The hunger is still there, not because I am out to set records, but purely for the joy of racing. Hopefully it will lead to another title win.”

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATS

2002 Saison Figures

1

DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP

11

GRAND PRIX WINS

17

PODIUM POSITIONS

144

POINTS TOTAL

7

FASTEST LAPS

7

POLE POSITION

THE CAR

Ferrari F2002

F2002

ALL GRAND PRIX

The races of 2002

MELBOURNE

03.03.2002

MELBOURNE

Australia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

SEPANG

17.03.2002

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 3

SAO PAULO

31.03.2002

SAO PAULO

Brazil

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

IMOLA

14.04.2002

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BARCELONA

28.04.2002

BARCELONA

Spain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SPIELBERG

12.05.2002

SPIELBERG

Austria

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONTE CARLO

26.05.2002

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

MONTREAL

09.06.2002

MONTREAL

Canada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

NÜRBURGRING

23.06.2002

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPEAN GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

SILVERSTONE

07.07.2002

SILVERSTONE

Great Britain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

21.07.2002

MAGNY-COURS

France

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

HOCKENHEIM

28.07.2002

HOCKENHEIM

Germany

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BUDAPEST

18.08.2002

BUDAPEST

Hungary

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

01.09.2002

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgium

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONZA

15.09.2002

MONZA

Italy

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

INDIANAPOLIS

29.09.2002

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

SUZUKA

13.10.2002

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

X

/2002 - Michael Schumacher

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browser-Version hier, um die Seite optimal anzeigen zu können.

2002

SAISON IN WORTEN

2002 Der fünfte WM-Titel

„I love you“, ruft Michael, vom Champagner durchtränkt, vom Podium herunter. Gemeint ist diesmal nicht nur seine Ehefrau Corinna, an diesem 21. Juli meint er sein gesamtes Team – vom Mechaniker bis zum Teamchef, vom Truckie bis zum Renningenieur.

An diesem Tag ist Michael nicht nur der Schnellste auf der Strecke, sondern auch der schnellste Weltmeister aller Zeiten. Bereits im elften von siebzehn Rennen, sechs Grand Prix vor Saisonende, holt er sich in Magny Cours seinen fünften WM-Titel, und zieht so mit dem legendären Juan Manuel Fangio gleich. Als lebende Legende sieht er sich deshalb nicht. „Das Team ist die Legende, nicht ich“, betont er. Ohne seine Mannschaft, ohne die harte Arbeit an der Strecke und in der Fabrik in Maranello würde es diesen Glücksmoment, den Titelhattrick mit Ferrari nicht geben.

Ein kleines Bisschen Glück

Nicht als es darum geht, ob Michael die WM gewinnen wird, aber sehr wohl bei der Frage danach, wann es so weit sein wird. „Ich habe ehrlich gesagt gar nicht an den Titel gedacht, weil ich irgendwie nicht das Gefühl hatte, dass es hier schon passieren würde“, sagt er hinterher. Mit 54 Punkten Vorsprung auf seinen Teamkollegen Rubens Barrichello reist Michael nach Frankreich. Aber ein Fehler, das Überfahren der weißen Linie bei der Boxenausfahrt, wirft ihn zurück. Er kämpft sich wieder nach vorne, aber erst in der fünfletzten Runde springt ihn der Titel förmlich an.

Kimi Räikkönen rutscht in Führung lieg vend auf einer Öllache aus, die Allan McNishs Toyota hinterlassen hat. „Es war einfach Glück“, sagt Michael ehrlich, „ich habe so etwas wirklich nicht erwartet.“ Als er die Führung übernimmt, kommen Michael zum ersten Mal an diesem Wochenende die Gedanken an den Titelgewinn.

„Ich glaube, das waren die schlimmsten fünf Runden in meiner Karriere.“ Sie schienen gar nicht zu enden, dauerten schier ewig.

Nach 72 Runden fünffacher Formel 1 Weltmeister

Nach 72 Runden überquert er die Ziellinie – als fünffacher Formel 1-Weltmeister. „Dann fällt alles von dir ab, du wirst dir bewusst, dass du es geschafft hast – das ist ein fantastischer Moment, deine ganzen Gefühle kommen heraus… ich kann gar nicht die richtigen Worte dafür finden.“

Ohne viele Worte, dafür mit umso mehr Jubelschreien, Fanfaren und Feuerwerkskörpern feiern ihn seine Fans beim nächsten Rennen – dem Heim Grand Prix des alten und neuen Champions in Hockenheim. Mit seinem ersten Heimsieg seit 1995 macht Michael die rote WM-Party perfekt. Bei zwei Rennen gibt es aber selbst in diesem roten Jubeljahr nicht nur Grund zur Freude.

Die F1-Welt schreibt den 12. Mai.

Rubens Barrichello führt den Großen Preis von Österreich an. Doch obwohl er bei der Siegerehrung auf dem obersten Podest stehen darf, gewinnt er nicht – wie im Vorjahr wird er auf der Zielgeraden auf Anweisung des Teams von Michael überholt. Die Empörung über die erneute Stallregie ist groß; als Michael beim US Grand Prix in Indianapolis zusammen mit Rubens Barrichello über die Ziellinie fahren möchte, kommt die Kritik erneut auf. Statt Michael gewinnt Barrichello mit 0,011 Sekunden oder 48 Zentimetern Vorsprung.

Michaels Siegeszug beeinträchtigt das nicht. Eine einzigartige Zuverlässigkeitsserie bedeutet, dass er alle 17 Rennen beendet, bei allen 17 Rennen in den Punkten landet und sogar bei allen 17 Rennen auf dem Podium stehtt. Insgesamt fährt er elf Siege, fünf 2. Plätze und einen 3. Platz ein.

Hunger habe ich schon noch, aber nicht, weil ich Rekorde aufstellen möchte, sondern aus der Freude am Rennfahren. Hoffentlich endet das dann in einer weiteren Meisterschaft.“

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATISTIK

2002 Saison in Zahlen

1

WM-PLATZIERUNG

11

GRAND PRIX SIEGE

17

PODIUMSPLÄTZE

144

ERREICHTE PUNKTE

7

SCHNELLSTE RUNDEN

7

POLE POSITION

DAS AUTO

Ferrari F2002

F2002

ALLE GRAND PRIX

Die Rennen der Saison 2002

MELBOURNE

03.03.2002

MELBOURNE

Australien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

SEPANG

17.03.2002

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 3

SAO PAULO

31.03.2002

SAO PAULO

Brasilien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

IMOLA

14.04.2002

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BARCELONA

28.04.2002

BARCELONA

Spanien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SPIELBERG

12.05.2002

SPIELBERG

Österreich

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MONTE CARLO

26.05.2002

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

MONTREAL

09.06.2002

MONTREAL

Kanada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

NÜRBURGRING

23.06.2002

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPA GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

SILVERSTONE

07.07.2002

SILVERSTONE

Großbritannien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

21.07.2002

MAGNY-COURS

Frankreich

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

HOCKENHEIM

28.07.2002

HOCKENHEIM

Deutschland

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BUDAPEST

18.08.2002

BUDAPEST

Ungarn

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

01.09.2002

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONZA

15.09.2002

MONZA

Italien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

INDIANAPOLIS

29.09.2002

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

SUZUKA

13.10.2002

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

X