/2004 - Michael Schumacher

Please upgrade your browser here in order to view this page correctly.

2004

ABOUT THIS SEASON

2004 Lucky Number 7

There’s something special about Spa-Francorchamps. It’s a challenge for both man and machine, one of the last few circuits constructed around a genuinely natural landscape with corners such as Eau Rouge and Blanchimont where real courage is called for. And to Michael, it means even more.

It’s the place where he made his GP debut, where he won his first GP race and where he always seems to be writing his name in the history books. One such date being 29th August 2004, the day he claimed his seventh world title.

A very special victory

The safety car emerges three times to interrupt a nerve-wracking Grand Prix. Michael is involved in a prolonged pursuit of Kimi Räikkönen’s McLaren but is unable to find a way past. However, even second position is good enough to secure him his fifth title in succession. “You can’t always be the winner, but in my eyes, I also emerged a winner today by taking the world championship,” he comments afterwards. “It means a lot to me to win my seventh title here in Spa-Francorchamps of all places and especially as this is Ferrari’s 700th GP. Quite remarkable really.”

Which just about sums up the season too. As early as the Melbourne curtain-raiser, the omens are good for Ferrari: the first race of the season and a podium one-two. The opposition are shell-shocked and the effect is to linger for some time. Malaysia, Bahrain, San Marino, Spain: in the first five races, the name of the winner is always the same – Michael Schumacher. To the extent that a young pretender can be identified, that person is called Jenson Button and he’s driving a Honda. The Briton claims a podium spot twice at the start of the season and chooses Imola of all venues, the Ferrari home turf, to bag the first non-Schumacher pole position of the year. He is still unable to stop Michael cruising to victory, though.

Dream Start and hunting for the record

A dream start in Monaco ends with a loud bang. On lap 40, Juan Pablo Montoya shunts into the back of Michael’s Ferrari during a safety car phase as they are going through the tunnel. “I wanted to keep my tyres and brakes up to temperature,” says Michael. “It’s the driver in front who sets the speed. Juan’s reactions weren’t as they should have been.” The dream of 18 victories in 18 races is over. In the long run, though, this proves to be the only hiccup in his season: from the Nürburgring through to Budapest, Michael occupies the top rung on the podium seven times in a row. This amounts to an incredible 12 victories out of 13. And before the season is over, he is to add one more.

In the French GP, the battle for the lead briefly threatens to become exciting. Then Michael and Technical Director Ross Brawn spring their surprise of a four-stop strategy to turn the tables. “Incredible how successful that was,” says a delighted Michael. “This four-stop victory will go into the record books. No risk, no fun – just perfect.” Michael’s former race engineer and new chief strategist Luca Baldisserri hits on the idea of a four-stopper in the week leading up to the race. “At first, Ross couldn’t believe I was being serious. But then we looked at the idea a bit more closely and saw that there were circumstances where it could work.” The eleven laps after Fernando Alonso’s third pit stop and before Michael’s fourth prove that it really does work.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATS

2004 Saison Figures

1

DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP

13

GRAND PRIX WINS

15

PODIUM POSITIONS

148

POINTS TOTAL

10

FASTEST LAPS

8

POLE POSITION

THE CAR

Ferrari F2004

F2004

ALL GRAND PRIX

The races of 2004

MELBOURNE

07.03.2004

MELBOURNE

Australia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SEPANG

21.03.2004

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BAHRAIN

04.04.2004

BAHRAIN

Bahrain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

IMOLA

25.04.2004

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

BARCELONA

09.05.2004

BARCELONA

Spain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONTE CARLO

23.05.2004

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen DNF

NÜRBURGRING

30.05.2004

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPEAN GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONTREAL

13.06.2004

MONTREAL

Canada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen 1

INDIANAPOLIS

20.06.2004

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

04.07.2004

MAGNY-COURS

France

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

SILVERSTONE

11.07.2004

SILVERSTONE

Great Britain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 1

HOCKENHEIM

25.07.2004

HOCKENHEIM

Germany

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BUDAPEST

15.08.2004

BUDAPEST

Hungary

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

29.08.2004

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgium

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

MONZA

12.09.2004

MONZA

Italy

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

SHANGHAI

26.09.2004

SHANGHAI

China

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. PIT

Rennen 12

SUZUKA

10.10.2004

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SAO PAULO

24.10.2004

SAO PAULO

Brazil

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 18

Rennen 7

X

/2004 - Michael Schumacher

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browser-Version hier, um die Seite optimal anzeigen zu können.

2004

SAISON IN WORTEN

2004 Lucky Number 7

Spa-Francorchamps ist etwas Besonderes. Eine Herauforderung für Mensch und Maschine, eine der letzten echten Naturstrecken mit Mutkurven wie Eau Rouge und Blanchimont. Für Michael ist es noch mehr.

Es ist der Ort seines GP-Debüts, der Ort seines ersten GP-Sieges, der Ort, an dem er sich immer wieder in die Geschichtsbücher einträgt. So auch am 29. August 2004, dem Tag, an dem er zum siebten Mal Weltmeister wird.

Ein ganz besonderer Sieg

Drei Safety Car-Phasen unterbrechen den nervenaufreibenden Grand Prix. Lange macht Michael jagt auf den McLaren von Kimi Räikkönen, doch er findet keinen Weg vorbei. Aber auch Platz 2 reicht ihm zum fünften Titelgewinn in Serie. „Man kann nicht immer gewinnen, aber den Sieg habe ich in meinen Augen trotzdem erreicht, indem ich die Meisterschaft gewonnen habe„, sagt er hinterher. „Es bedeutet mir sehr viel, ausgerechnet in Spa-Francorchamps im 700. Grand Prix von Ferrari meinen 7. Titel zu gewinnen. Das ist etwas ganz Besonderes.“

Genauso wie die gesamte Saison. Schon in Melbourne beginnt alles mit fliegenden Ferrari-Fahnen: erstes Rennen, erster Doppelsieg. Die Konkurrenz ist geschockt und diese Wirkung soll noch lange anhalten. Malaysia, Bahrain, San Marino, Spanien – in den ersten fünf Rennen heißt der Sieger immer Michael Schumacher. Sofern man von einem Ferrari-Verfolger sprechen kann, hört dieser auf den Namen Jenson Button und sitzt in einem Honda. Der Brite steht zum Saisonstart zweimal auf dem Podium und holt ausgerechnet beim Ferrari-Heimspiel in Imola die erste Nicht-Schumacher-Pole des Jahres. An Michaels Sieg kann aber auch er nicht rütteln.

Traumstart und Rekordjagd

Der Traumstart wird in Monaco von einem lauten Knall jäh beendet. In Runde 46 knallt Juan Pablo Montoya Michaels Ferrari während einer Safety Car-Phase im Tunnel ins Heck. „Ich wollte die Reifen und Bremsen auf Temperatur halten„, sagt Michael. „Der Führende bestimmt das Tempo. Juan hat schlecht reagiert.“ Der Traum von 18 Siegen aus 18 Rennen ist zu Ende. Auf lange Sicht soll es aber der einzige Ausrutscher bleiben: vom Nürburgring bis Budapest steht Michael sieben Mal in Serie auf dem obersten Podest. Das ergibt die unglaubliche Quote von 12 Siegen aus 13 Rennen. Bis zum Saisonende kommt noch ein weiterer hinzu.

In Frankreich droht der Kampf um den Sieg kurz spannend zu werden. Dann packen Michael und Technikchef Ross Brawn eine Vierstoppstrategie aus und drehen den Spieß um. „Unglaublich, wie das geklappt hat„, freut sich Michael „Dieser Vier-Stopp-Sieg wird in die Geschichte eingehen. No risk, no fun – einfach perfekt.“ Zum ersten Mal kommt Michaels ehemaligem Renningenieur und neuem Chefstrategen Luca Baldisserri die Idee eines Vierstoppers in der Woche vor dem Rennen. „Zuerst hat Ross wohl nicht geglaubt, dass ich das ernst meine, aber dann haben wir es uns näher angesehen und sahen, dass es unter gewissen Umständen funktionieren kann.“ Die elf Runden nach Fernando Alonsos drittem und vor Michaels viertem Stopp beweisen: es funktioniert tatsächlich.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATISTIK

2004 Saison in Zahlen

1

WM-PLATZIERUNG

13

GRAND PRIX SIEGE

15

PODIUMSPLÄTZE

148

ERREICHTE PUNKTE

10

SCHNELLSTE RUNDEN

8

POLE POSITION

DAS AUTO

Ferrari F2004

F2004

ALLE GRAND PRIX

Die Rennen der Saison 2004

MELBOURNE

07.03.2004

MELBOURNE

Australien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SEPANG

21.03.2004

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BAHRAIN

04.04.2004

BAHRAIN

Bahrain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

IMOLA

25.04.2004

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

BARCELONA

09.05.2004

BARCELONA

Spanien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONTE CARLO

23.05.2004

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen DNF

NÜRBURGRING

30.05.2004

NÜRBURGRING

Luxemburg

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

MONTREAL

13.06.2004

MONTREAL

Kanada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen 1

INDIANAPOLIS

20.06.2004

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

04.07.2004

MAGNY-COURS

Frankreich

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 1

SILVERSTONE

11.07.2004

SILVERSTONE

Großbritannien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 4

Rennen 1

HOCKENHEIM

25.07.2004

HOCKENHEIM

Deutschland

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

BUDAPEST

15.08.2004

BUDAPEST

Ungarn

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

29.08.2004

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

MONZA

12.09.2004

MONZA

Italien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 2

SHANGHAI

26.09.2004

SHANGHAI

China

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. BOX

Rennen 12

SUZUKA

10.10.2004

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 1

SAO PAULO

24.10.2004

SAO PAULO

Brasilien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 18

Rennen 7

X