/2005 - Michael Schumacher

Please upgrade your browser here in order to view this page correctly.

2005

ABOUT THIS SEASON

2005 Things are never as bad as they seem

The tifosi in Imola are jumping up and down in their seats. For three laps, Michael’s red Ferrari has been glued to the rear of Jenson Button’s Honda. Then he gets past the Briton and begins to chase down the leader.

From lap 50 onwards, the F2005 with the number 1 painted on its side looms large in Fernando Alonso’s rear view mirror. Michael dodges to the side here, tries to pass there. The fans are totally mesmerised by the last twelve laps. In the end, Michael crosses the finishing line just two-tenths of a second behind the Spaniard. Afterwards, he analyses how he worked his way up from 13th on the grid to finish second: “There were some places where I could have tried but there was never enough in it. All I could do once I was finally on his tail was to keep pushing and hope that he would make an error. Unfortunately, he didn’t oblige. He never faltered. Anyway, it was terrific fun. Imola was the highlight of a remarkable season.”

A season in which Michael is to win only one single race, albeit a race that doesn’t necessarily qualify under the ’highlight’ category. In Indianapolis there are only six cars on the starting line: the two Ferraris of Michael and team-mate Rubens Barrichello, the two Jordans and the two Minardis. All the Michelin drivers return to the pits after the warm-up lap: in view of the tyre damage suffered in free practice, the danger is deemed to be too great. Michael wins ahead of Barrichello and Tiago Monteiro.

A tough battle

As in 2003 and 2004, Ferrari begin the season with last year’s model. During the winter months, the F2004 M has undergone a radical overhaul. The new regulations demand a trimming of the aerodynamics, engines that will last for two race weekends and long-life tyres that the teams are not allowed to change during the race. As early as the first race of the season in Australia, Michael finds out just how tricky these new rules are going to be. After qualifying in very rainy conditions, having to change his engine and suffering the consequent penalty, he finds himself at the back of the grid. Following a collision with Nick Heidfeld, he doesn’t even get to see the chequered flag.

In Malaysia too, things don’t go according to plan: P7 is the best he can manage with last year’s revamped vehicle. Michael started the previous season with five wins in five races. This time round, he has just one solitary point to show for two outings. Bahrain sees the debut of the new F2005, slightly earlier than planned, but a problem with the hydraulics forces Michael to retire, the first time a technical fault has taken him out of a race since Hockenheim in 2001.

Having fun going one-on-one

By contrast with the sovereign victories of the 2004 season, Michael has to battle hard for positions and points throughout the whole of this year. But there are also positive aspects to this. “Sometimes it was simply fantastic,” he says. “Take Monaco, for example. That was great fun. Obviously I would prefer to be in the lead all the time, but a good one-on-one contest is never a bad thing.”

In addition to his Indianapolis win, Michael also secures the second podium spot in San Marino, Canada and Hungary. From the last ten races, he hauls a tally of 28 points and thus takes third place overall in the drivers’ championship. “To a certain extent, it’s true that this was the toughest season since I joined Ferrari. But that only really applies if you look at results, which is something I don’t. Admittedly, I won fewer races than in any other of these Ferrari seasons, but we had much tougher years. The ones before I won my first title with Ferrari. Statistically, they may count as more successful, but psychologically, they were much more draining.” So things are never half as bad as they seem.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATS

2005 Saison Figures

3

DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP

1

GRAND PRIX WINS

5

PODIUM POSITIONS

62

POINTS TOTAL

3

FASTEST LAPS

1

POLE POSITION

THE CAR

Ferrari F2005

F2005

ALL GRAND PRIX

The races of 2005

MELBOURNE

06.03.2005

MELBOURNE

Australia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 19

Rennen DNF

SEPANG

20.03.2005

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 13

Rennen 7

BAHRAIN

03.04.2005

BAHRAIN

Bahrain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen DNF

IMOLA

24.04.2005

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 13

Rennen 2

BARCELONA

08.05.2005

BARCELONA

Spain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 8

Rennen DNF

MONTE CARLO

22.05.2005

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 8

Rennen 7

NÜRBURGRING

29.05.2005

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPEAN GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 10

Rennen 5

MONTREAL

12.06.2005

MONTREAL

Canada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

INDIANAPOLIS

19.06.2005

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 5

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

03.07.2005

MAGNY-COURS

France

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 3

SILVERSTONE

10.07.2005

SILVERSTONE

Great Britain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 9

Rennen 6

HOCKENHEIM

24.07.2005

HOCKENHEIM

Germany

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 5

Rennen 5

BUDAPEST

31.07.2005

BUDAPEST

Hungary

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

ISTANBUL

21.08.2005

ISTANBUL

Türkei

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 19

Rennen DNF

MONZA

04.09.2005

MONZA

Italy

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen 10

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

11.09.2005

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgium

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen DNF

SAO PAULO

25.09.2005

SAO PAULO

Brazil

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 7

Rennen 4

SUZUKA

09.10.2005

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 14

Rennen 7

SHANGHAI

16.10.2005

SHANGHAI

China

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. PIT

Rennen DNF

X

/2005 - Michael Schumacher

Bitte aktualisieren Sie Ihre Browser-Version hier, um die Seite optimal anzeigen zu können.

2005

SAISON IN WORTEN

2005 Alles halb so schlimm

Die Tifosi in Imola springen von den Sitzen. Michaels roter Ferrari hängt drei Runden lang im Getriebe von Jenson Buttons Honda. Dann geht er am Briten vorbei und macht sich sogleich auf die Jagd nach dem Führenden.

Ab Runde 50 füllt der F2005 mit der Startnummer 1 den Rückspiegel von Fernando Alonso voll aus. Michael zuckt hier raus, probiert dort vorbeizugehen. Die Fans sind von den letzten zwölf Runden des Rennens wie elektrisiert. Am Ende überquert Michael die Ziellinie gerade einmal zwei Zehntel nach dem Spanier. „Es gab einige Stellen, wo ich es hätte versuchen können, aber es hat nie gereicht„, analysiert er seine Fahrt auf Platz 2, die er von der 13. Startposition beginnen musste. „Alles, was ich machen konnte, als ich endlich hinter ihm war, war zu pushen und zu hoffen, dass er einen kleinen Fehler machen wuerde“, so Michael. „Diesen Gefallen hat er mir nicht getan. Er hat nicht die kleinste Schwaeche gezeigt. Aber es hat viel Spass gemacht. Imola war das Highlight einer seltsamen Saison.“

Einer Saison, in der Michael nur ein einziges Rennen gewinnt, das sich allerdings nicht unbedingt für die Kategorie Highlight qualifiziert. In Indianapolis stehen nur sechs Autos am Start. Die beiden Ferrari von Michael und seinem Teamkollegen Rubens Barrichello, die beiden Jordan und die beiden Minardi. Alle Michelin-Fahrer fahren nach der Einführungsrunde an die Box zurück – die Gefahr ist nach den Reifenschäden im Freien Training zu hoch. Michael siegt vor Barrichello und Tiago Monteiro.

Der harte Kampf

Die Saison beginnt Ferrari, wie schon 2003 und 2004, mit dem Vorjahresauto. Der F2004 M wurde im Winter einer Radikalkur unterzogen. Die neuen Regeln sehen eine Beschneidung der Aerodynamik, Zweiwochenendmotoren und langlebige Reifen vor, die während des Rennens nicht gewechselt werden dürfen. Schon beim ersten Rennen des Jahres in Australien lernt Michael die Tücken dieses Reglements kennen. Nach einem verregneten Qualifying, einem Motorwechsel und der entsprechenden Strafversetzung startet er von ganz hinten. Die Zielflagge sieht er nach einer Kollision mit Nick Heidfeld nicht.

Auch in Malaysia läuft es nicht nach Plan, Platz 7 ist das höchste der Gefühle mit dem modifizierten Vorjahreswagen. Ein Jahr zuvor begann Michael die Saison mit fünf Siegen aus fünf Rennen. In dieser Saison hat er nach zwei Rennen gerade einmal zwei Punkte auf dem Konto. In Bahrain debütiert der neue F2005 früher als geplant, doch Michael fällt wegen eines Hydraulikproblems aus – zum ersten Mal seit Hockenheim 2001 wegen eines technischen Defekts.

Der Spaß im Zweikampf

Im Gegensatz zu den ungefährdeten Siegen der Saison 2004 muss Michael in diesem Jahr hart kämpfen, um Platzierungen und Punkte. Das muss aber nicht immer negativ sein. „Manchmal war es einfach nur toll„, sagt er. „Wie in Monaco, das hat richtig Spaß gemacht. Natürlich will ich am liebsten um den Sieg kämpfen, aber ein guter Zweikampf ist nie schlecht.“

Neben dem Sieg in Indianapolis fährt Michael in San Marino, Kanada und Ungarn als Zweiter aufs Podest. Aus den letzten zehn Rennen holt er 28 Punkte und sichert sich so den dritten Platz in der Fahrerweltmeisterschaft. „Auf eine gewisse Weise ist es wahr, dass dies die härteste Saison war, seit ich zu Ferrari gestoßen bin. Aber das stimmt nur, wenn man rein auf die Ergebnisse schaut – und das mache ich nicht.“ Klar, habe er weniger Rennen gewonnen als in jeder anderen seiner Ferrari-Saisons, „aber wir hatten wirklich viel härtere Jahre – jene bevor ich zum ersten Mal die WM mit Ferrari gewonnen habe. Sie mögen aus Statistiksicht viel erfolgreicher gewesen sein, aber sie waren psychisch viel anstrengender.“ Also alles halb so schlimm.

Courtesy by motorsport-magazin.com

STATISTIK

2005 Saison in Zahlen

3

WM-PLATZIERUNG

1

GRAND PRIX SIEGE

5

PODIUMSPLÄTZE

62

ERREICHTE PUNKTE

3

SCHNELLSTE RUNDEN

1

POLE POSITION

DAS AUTO

Ferrari F2005

F2005

ALLE GRAND PRIX

Die Rennen der Saison 2005

MELBOURNE

06.03.2005

MELBOURNE

Australien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 19

Rennen DNF

SEPANG

20.03.2005

SEPANG

Malaysia

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 13

Rennen 7

BAHRAIN

03.04.2005

BAHRAIN

Bahrain

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen DNF

IMOLA

24.04.2005

IMOLA

San Marino

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 13

Rennen 2

BARCELONA

08.05.2005

BARCELONA

Spanien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 8

Rennen DNF

MONTE CARLO

22.05.2005

MONTE CARLO

Monaco

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 8

Rennen 7

NÜRBURGRING

29.05.2005

NÜRBURGRING

EUROPA GP

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 10

Rennen 5

MONTREAL

12.06.2005

MONTREAL

Kanada

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 2

Rennen 2

INDIANAPOLIS

19.06.2005

INDIANAPOLIS

USA

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 5

Rennen 1

MAGNY-COURS

03.07.2005

MAGNY-COURS

Frankreich

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 3

Rennen 3

SILVERSTONE

10.07.2005

SILVERSTONE

Großbritannien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 9

Rennen 6

HOCKENHEIM

24.07.2005

HOCKENHEIM

Deutschland

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 5

Rennen 5

BUDAPEST

31.07.2005

BUDAPEST

Ungarn

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 1

Rennen 2

ISTANBUL

21.08.2005

ISTANBUL

Türkei

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 19

Rennen DNF

MONZA

04.09.2005

MONZA

Italien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen 10

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

11.09.2005

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS

Belgien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 6

Rennen DNF

SAO PAULO

25.09.2005

SAO PAULO

Brasilien

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 7

Rennen 4

SUZUKA

09.10.2005

SUZUKA

Japan

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. 14

Rennen 7

SHANGHAI

16.10.2005

SHANGHAI

China

PLATZIERUNG

Quali. BOX

Rennen DNF

X